Bolton Ladies' Hockey League
Return to BSF page

This index provides links to the information pages in this site.

Match Card  & Risk Assessment 2022-23 new
Click here for printable form

Individual Player Registration Form
Click here for printable form

Individual Player DISCLAIMER Form
Click here for printable form

Match Card  & Risk Assessment 2022-23 new
Click here for printable form

Clubs Important Information League Rule Book 2022 News Trophies Umpires
FIXTURES for 2023-2024 TABLE  2023-2024
Click here for News
N.B. - Teams with players under 18 years must have at least one Official with a valid DBS (CRB) check
2001-2002 Tables 2002-2003 Tables 2003-2004 Tables 2004-2005 Tables 2005-2006 Tables
2006-2007 Tables 2007-2008 Tables 2008-2009 Tables 2009-2010 Tables 2010-2011 Tables
2011-2012 Tables 2012-2013 Tables  (including 6-a-side) 2013-2014 Tables 2014-2015 Tables 2015-2016 Tables
2016-2017 Table 2017-2018 Table 2018-2019 Table 2019-2020 Table 2020-2021 Table
2021-2022 Table 2022-2023 Table      


President:  Michelle Waring


Vice-Chair:  Mrs VIV. MAKIN

Hon. Secretary:  Mrs ANGELA HARRISON

Hon. Treasurer & Accident Secretary:  Mrs VIV. MAKIN

Match Secretary:  Mr MOYA BALL

Umpires' Representative Mr PAT FITZGERALD

Fixture Secretary:  Mrs SUE RUSSELL

Committee Members:  One representative from each team.


Bolton & District Hospital Saturday Challenge Cup
Jonathan Taylor Shield  -  'A' Section Champions          :          Thomas Nuttall Shield  -  'B' Section Champions
Steele Cup  -  for 'A' Section Teams          :          Davenport Cup  -  for 'B' Section Teams
Cleworth Cup  -  for first round losers in the Steele and Davenport Cups
Reynolds Cowell Trophy  -  Mid-season handicap          :          Tommy Angel Charity Cup
L.D.Baker & Phyllis Anderton Shields  -  for the best, most sporting and punctual sides of the season.

Constitution (July1996)

Name:  The League shall be called “Bolton Sports Federation Ladies’ Hockey League”.

Government:  The League shall be governed by a committee elected at the Annual General Meeting, which shall be held in June.  

Policy:  The policy of the League shall be that agreed upon by representatives at the A.G.M. and established at Committee meetings.  

Objective:  The Committee shall consist of Chairman, Vice- Chairman, Treasurer, Secretary, Match Secretary, Umpires’ representative “the officers” plus one representative from each team and ex-officio officers of the B.S.F. Executive. The Committee has the power to co-opt.  

Election of officers:  Officers shall be elected for a two year period at the A.G.M. In the event of an elected member leaving the Committee, a replacement shall be appointed by the Committee to serve until the next A.G.M.  

Quorum:  Seven members shall form a quorum for a Committee meeting and three for a sub-committee.  

Duties of the Committee:

(a) Consider all matters referred to it and take proper expedient action.

(b) Be responsible for administration of the League, for conforming to B.S.F. Fundamental Rules and League rules and for submitting an annual report and League account to the A.G.M. together with further information that may be required.

Duties of the Chairman:  The Chairman shall preside at all the A.G.M.s of the League and all meetings of the committee, with powers to summon special meetings of the Committee, through the Secretary. In the event of equality of votes for or against any matter, the Chairman shall have the casting vote.

Duties of the Vice-Chairman:  The Vice-Chairman shall deputise in the absence of the Chairman. In the absence of both, a chairman shall be elected from those members present.

Duties of the Secretary:

The Secretary shall:  

(a) with the Chairman, be responsible for calling all A.G.M.s for the league and meetings of the Committee, preparing minutes of all meetings and for maintaining the records of the League.

(b) submit to the committee, all matters of League business.

(c) be responsible for all correspondence received and sent.

(d) be provided with a deputy on request.

Duties of the Treasurer:  

The Treasure shall:

(a) collect all members subscriptions, fees, fines etc. and be responsible for all League monies.

(b) pay all reasonable expenses incurred by the League.

(c) administer the Players and Umpires Accident Fund.

(d) prepare annually, an audited income and expenditure account made up to 30th May.

(e) submit to the committee meetings, statements of the League funds.

Duties of the Match Secretary:

The Match Secretary shall:

(a) schedule all matches

(b) receive the results cards and match reports, and compile reports for local newspapers.

(c) maintain league tables and report to the Committee.

(d) report abandoned matches, late starts, late cards and other discrepan­cies to the Committee.

Subscriptions and Finance:  The funds of the League shall be controlled by the Committee and shall be deposited in a Bank / Building Society approved by the committee, in the name of the League. All cheques and drafts on the bankers shall be signed by the Treasurer and counter signed by the Chairman or Secretary.

Standing Orders for meetings:

(a) No discussion shall be allowed on the minutes except as to accuracy. No resolutions of the Committee shall be rescinded except by a proposal at a subsequent meeting with a 2/3 majority.

(b) All proposals shall be moved and seconded before being debated.

(c) The following proposals may be moved and seconded without notice and question put:

      1. To suspend the meeting.

      2. To adjourn the meeting.

      3. To proceed to the next business.

      4. That the vote be taken. Such motions require a two thirds majority.

(d) Items for inclusion on the agenda for committee meetings shall be notified to the Secretary 48 hours prior to the meeting

(e) Only urgent items shall be taken at Any Other Business at Committee meetings.


(a) Each member and elected officer shall have one vote. Ex- officio Executive members do not have a vote.

(b) Voting shall be on a show of hands.

(c) At the A.G.M., each member team shall have one vote.


(a) All applications for League membership shall be subject to acceptance by the Committee.

(b) A team shall be deemed to be a member of the League upon receipt of all required subscriptions, fees etc. by the League Treasurer.

(c) Any member team not represented at the A.G.M. will be fined £5.00.

Appeals:  Members have the right of appeal against the Committee decisions. In the event of the decision being upheld after a personal hearing, members have a further right of appeal to the B.S.F. Executive committee, if there is evidence that the rules of the Hockey League have been breached.

Return to TOP of page